9 classes of dangerous goods

Dangerous goods are separated into different classes which affect how you must package and transport them

The UN Model Regulations use a classification system in which each dangerous substance or article is assigned to a class depending on the nature of the danger it presents. There are 9 Classes, some of which are sub-divided.

 1 Explosive substances and articles
2.1  Flammable gas (e.g butane)
2.2 Non-flammable and non-toxic gases which could cause asphyxiation (e.g. nitrogen, helium, carbon dioxide) or oxidisers (e.g. oxygen)
2.3 Toxic gases (e.g. chlorine, phosgene)
3 Flammable liquids (e.g. lighter fluid, petrol)
4.1 Flammable solids, self-reactive substances and solid desensitised explosives
4.2 Substances liable to spontaneous  combustion
4.3 Substances which, in contact with water, emit flammable gases
5.1 Oxidising substances
5.2 Organic peroxides
6.1 Toxic substances
6.2 Infectious substances
7 Radioactive material
8 Corrosive substances
9 Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles
Get a quote